Digital revolution

My data is mine.

2 MIN

Nowadays, who does not accept dozens of terms and conditions daily by clicking passively on “ok”? Who still manages to escape the innumerable cookies that scan our computers?

We became the first accomplices to the dispossession of our personal data. However, we do not withdraw any direct remuneration from this raw material that we supply. And for good reason, the monetization of our data is the main source of compensation for platforms like GAFA. The apparent free nature of the services they offer us is in reality at the cost of our “privacy”.

A property right on our data

To put an end to this looting of our data by the companies of the Net, GenerationLibre defends the introduction of a property right on personal data.

If the industrial revolution necessitated the introduction of an intellectual property right; the digital revolution today more than ever makes necessary the introduction of a property right over personal data.

Inspired by the reasoning of the American researcher Jaron Lanier, the goal is to make the individual the legal owner of his/her personal data. Each could sell his/her data to the platforms, or otherwise pay for the service rendered and keep his/her private data.

A world premiere

This legal innovation is such that it does not yet exist in any country in the world. But this property right is a logical continuation of the General Regulation on the Protection of Personal Data, which came into force on May 25, 2018. The opportunity for Europe to innovate and spread its model is to be seized.

Révolution numérique

Mes data sont à moi.

2 MIN

Aujourd’hui, qui n’accepte pas quotidiennement des dizaines de termes et conditions en cliquant passivement sur « ok » ? Qui parvient encore à échapper aux innombrables cookies qui scrutent nos ordinateurs ? 

Nous sommes devenus les premiers complices de la dépossession de nos données personnelles. Pourtant, nous ne retirons pas la moindre rémunération directe de cette matière première que nous fournissons. Et pour cause, la monétisation de nos données constitue la principale source de rémunération de plateformes comme les GAFA. L’apparente gratuité des services qu’elles nous offrent est en réalité le coût de notre « privacy ».

Un droit de propriété sur nos data

Pour mettre fin à ce pillage de nos données par les entreprises du Net, GenerationLibre défend l’introduction d’un droit de propriété sur les données personnelles.

Si la révolution industrielle a rendu nécessaire l’introduction d’un droit de propriété intellectuelle ; la révolution numérique rend aujourd’hui plus que jamais nécessaire l’introduction d’un droit de propriété sur les données personnelles.

Inspiré par le raisonnement déployé par le chercheur américain Jaron Lanier, l’objectif est de rendre l’individu juridiquement propriétaire de ses données personnelles. Chacun pourrait ainsi vendre ses données aux plateformes, ou au contraire payer pour le service rendu et conserver ses données privées.

Une première mondiale

Cette innovation juridique est telle qu’elle n’existe encore dans aucun pays dans le monde. Mais ce droit de propriété s’inscrit dans la suite logique du Règlement général sur la protection des données personnelles, qui entrera en vigueur le 25 mai 2018. L’opportunité pour l’Europe d’innover et de diffuser son modèle est à saisir.